Check Please!

A colleague of mine just asked me what word to use to initiate checkout in a US restaurant.

I immediately replied "’Check, please!’, or more polite ‘Could I/we have the check, please?’", but I had to look up various references to try and clarify the relation between "bill" and "check".

One "source" is this blog entry on dine-out-behavior, that I find too interesting and concise to not juice it for my next search.

But that guy’s using "check" and "bill" in such a whirl that it’s hard to figure out when to use one vs. the other. I guess, "check" is the act of producing the "bill", but who cares about such distinctions?

In case somebody’s wondering:

In German it’s a choice of

  • "Die Rechnung, bitte!" ("The bill, please.")
  • "Zahlen, bitte!" ("[I would like to {be}] pay{ing}, please."), which is in fact not as impolite as it may sound, but carries the intention of intent to leave immediately.
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

